Comfort Food

23 Nov

I know that losing a job is one of the top five most stressful life experiences, but I had really hoped that I would just slip past any depression from this since deep down it was what I wanted. It turns out that when someone wrongs you, it doesn’t matter what you wanted, you feel wronged. I can’t wait to tell you about it, and oh tell you I will, I am just deciding whether or not to sue the shit out of her or not.

Anyway, I’ve been in a bit of a funk about it. On top of the funk, we are in the middle of what local news is calling Arctic Blast 2010. The high today was 31.

What I am trying to say is that I’ve been cramming comfort food down my piehole for days now. I’ve gained my Thanksgiving weight before Thanksgiving – GAH. B asked me if I wanted to take a bath with Fiona tonight and I was like, I have too much extra girth to be seen in a bathtub, otherwise I would, you know?

All that being said, I ate like a queen today and thought I would share some of my bounty.

Breakfast: I tried a new way of cooking steel cut oats. Usually I make them on the stove top or in the slow cooker, but I recently read that baked is the way to go. The “recipe” is as follows:

1 cup steel cut oats
3 cups water
1 cup milk
pinch of salt
Stir, bake for 2 hours at 300.

You can eat it all week, just scoop out what you want each morning. So this morning I topped mine with soymilk, half a banana, coconut and cinnamon. It was so, so good.

Lunch: Lunch was leftover chicken and dumplings, from this recipe. I swear, this is the perfect cold weather food.

Dinner: I made meatballs and slow cooked them in my favorite sauce, then threw in a bunch of pasta and it was delish. I then followed all of this up with a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting.

Take that, troll boss. Take that, Arctic Blast.

But seriously. I am so full.

2 Responses to “Comfort Food”

  1. Maura 11/24/2010 at 3:18 pm #

    I totally know what you mean. When I lost my job that I hated with the passion of a thousand fiery suns, I was still pissed. Now I have a job I hate just as much, but I’d be PISSED if someone took it from me.

    Your comfort food sounds delish. I’ve never made steel cut oats. How do you reheat them in the morning?

  2. Manda 11/24/2010 at 4:55 pm #

    I got laid off over the summer from what I thought was my dream job. It hurt and felt like each person at my job was standing over me and taking turns kicking me…even though, I knew it wasn’t there fault. Although, there is something about being the only person out of 20 to be laid off. It was like I was personally chosen. I feel your pain, on some level.

    And, for the honest and real reason I am commenting…comfort food. :) I have been looking for a Chicken and Dumpling recipe for months now and this one looks divine. OMG. I have a question tho, what kind of chicken do you use and how do you shred it? Imma make this, like…this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

