The List

12 Jul

I always have a notebook with me. I kick it old school, and keep a makeshift calendar and my to-do list’s in it. Last week, for the first time ever, I lost my notebook. This sucks for two reasons, first because my entire life was in it, and second because it was the greatest notebook yet. When you are the kind of person that keeps a notebook you are the kind of person searching for the best notebook (and pen). This one was pretty close.

This is all to say that I had to recreate the Summer List.

Here is List 2.0:

1. Pick berries
2. Make jam
3. Ride bikes around Hagg Lake
4. Watch a movie outside
5. Go camping
6. Spend the night outside with the boys
7. Watch stars with B
8. Go to an outdoor concert
9. Sew something
10. Can big batches of tomato sauce using tomatoes from the garden
11. Make ice cream
12. Make and freeze big batches of pesto
13. Make gazpacho
14. Take the dogs to the creek
15. Go on a zipline
16. Take a vacation
17. Learn to golf
18. Take the boys to the Saturday Farmers Market
19. Have a gourmet picnic
20. Go downtown and take pictures all day

This of course excludes the elephant in the room which is:

21. Find $16,000
22. Have a baby

But those things seem increasingly hard to do, and I wanted a list to check things off of.

So, yeah. Summer of 2009: The Summer of AWESOME.

4 Responses to “The List”

  1. Liz 07/12/2009 at 5:50 pm #

    Your list rules. I tried a new “pesto” and it was totes yum over shrimp and took much, much less oil. Also, pepitas are WAY cheaper than pine nuts. It came from: http://foothillhomecompanion.blogspot.com/2009/06/lets-call-it-mexican-pesto.html. But I added more olive oil–needed closer to 1/3 c. than 2 Tbsp. I also didn’t have enough cilantro, so I used half cilantro & half basil.

  2. carrie 07/13/2009 at 6:15 pm #

    you totally did a bunch of those this weekend.

    take the boys to the farmers market…. check
    watch a movie outside…. check

    also
    take dogs to the creek…. check
    make jam…. check

    you are totally on a roll. you go girl. did I just say that?

  3. Lelo 07/17/2009 at 3:23 am #

    I love your summer list. I didn’t know you could ride bikes around Hagg Lake. Hmmm. That’s a good one. I’d also like to swim in a lake this summer. With my dog. She has never done that and needs to, don’t you think?

    I’m so glad to put your Twitter face to your blog face. 🙂

  4. Raz 07/22/2009 at 2:22 pm #

    I am still searching for the best notebook, but I already have a pen to write in it with. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

