Things I thought about today -or- You totally care about what I had for lunch

20 Aug

Despite the fact that it is 100 degrees in our neck of the woods, I am thinking about fall. This is because against all odds and a lifetime of contrary evidence, I married a hunter. Marrying a hunter means that starting mid-August you prepare for September. A girl who hated the country and swore to only live in the city, deciding what meals to seal-a-meal. Life, you so crazy.

**

Also, the house is full of the smell of butternut squash, which is normally a fall staple around here. I couldn’t hold off any longer though, I had to make this. I know, right? It’s basically a grown up macaroni and cheese. I will report back, obvs.

**

I have been throwing around the idea of getting a new tattoo. I love this one, found at this awesome site:

tattoo
It’s kind of a way to tattoo your love for someone with out the jinxy feel of putting their name on your body. The trouble is always placement. I am running out of places that fall under the “see when you want / hide when you want” category.

**

I think my next big knitting challenge will be a sweater. I love this sweater. I am still itching to sew something, and went to the store the other day with the idea that I would make a quilt. Um, you guys? Did you know there is like two rows of quilting supplies? Because I thought you could just cut some squares up and sew them together. I was wrong. So wrong.

**

I rented season one of Mad Men. It seems to be a trend in my life that when times get really stressful I find the best medicine is immerse myself in a series. When my dad first got sick we watched The Sopranos. When I was having tests and surgery on my babymaker we consumed Gilmore Girls. When I was coming to terms with the babymaker bunkness it was Weeds and then Californication. Now, as I cross my fingers that our surrogacy plan takes shape, I will watch Mad Men.

**

I want to talk about the surrogacy stuff so bad it’s bounding out of me, but I am superstitious and therefore can’t mention it until it is a done deal. So if you are into that kind of thing, send us wishes and love and hope.

**

I added the tagline “Tales From a Baby Starved Wingnut” because we recently watched Juno again, and I love the part where she tells her dad that not to worry that she is pregnant, she has adoptive parents lined up, and he says, “June-bug, I’m going with you next week. I don’t want you talking to any baby starved wingnuts without me”.

**

For lunch I diced up half an avocado with tomatoes from the garden, mixed it with a squeeze of lemon and pinch of salt, and ate it with black beans and corn chips. So there.

6 Responses to “Things I thought about today -or- You totally care about what I had for lunch”

  1. Amber 08/21/2009 at 1:48 am #

    Sending you wishes and love and hope!

  2. Cath 08/21/2009 at 3:51 am #

    Sending you and B mucho love. mucho wishes and mucho hope!

  3. Papa 08/24/2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Wishing you love and hope and so much more. Pass on the grown up mac & cheese. Good hunting to B.

  4. The Best Friend 08/26/2009 at 6:31 pm #

    When you said that about you caring what I had for lunch.. I thought it was going to be about me and how I talk about food and what I have eaten that day… since I have since we were like 11.

  5. Desiraie 09/07/2009 at 3:15 am #

    Grown Up Mac n Cheese: So going to make that soon. Was it good?

    Tattoos: Awesome!! I have been itching for a new one and just have no idea what to get … those are some great ideas!

    Quilting: I once read a great idea for quilting was to use all your old concert t-shirts to make one. Your memories are all in tact and have a use other than being in a box somewhere. I have a collection and would totally get together with you and quilt, although admitting that totally made me feel old. My only save face is that it’s concert t’s.

    Sending you lots of love and hope and prayers for the surrogacy. xoxo

  6. the soul mate 09/23/2009 at 6:51 pm #

    i LOVE that tattoo, i LOVE the green sweater (I have one eerily similar) and i LOVE your tag line: “Tales From a Baby Starved Wingnut”. Basically, you are the cat’s meow.

Leave a Reply

