Sub-par post #10

11 Nov

I’m not going lie, quality posts have been rare around these parts since NaBloPoMo started. It’s teaching me a valuable lesson about quality vs. quantity. Sadly, for my 14 readers, you don’t learn any lessons, you just have to read 30 sub-par posts.

I would buy you all ice cream if I could!

**

I had my first interview to become a CASA this morning. For those of you that don’t want to click through, CASA stands for Court Appointed Special Advocate, and it is a volunteer position wherein you are trained and sworn in, and then you are assigned children who find themselves in the system* and you advocate for their rights. You go to all court hearings, and do home visits and report back to the judge. It’s a pretty major undertaking, but such an amazing program that uses volunteers to fill in the gaps that the DHS leaves.

*I cannot hear or say “in the system” without immediately going to, “In the Criminal Justice System the people are represented by two separate, yet equally important groups. The police who investigate crime and the District Attorneys who prosecute the offenders. These are their stories.”

I have wanted to do this for a long time, and I am really excited about it. The training is pretty intense, I guess, and doesn’t start until January, so we will see how that goes. I am just so thankful to be doing something that isn’t infertility related.

After the interview I went to Trader Joes with the sole intention of getting some kale, so I could make this. I already spend almost a hundred dollars on groceries yesterday, so I didn’t need anything else. And sure enough, I leave Trader Joes after spending forty-five dollars and I still have no kale. I’ve got four kinds of cheeses and a wine and some crusty bread and some sweet and salty nuts though! Trader Joe’s is an evil nest of delicious goodness.

Seriously, how good does that Ribollita look? Really, that whole website is a gem. She is one of my favorite food bloggers.

I leave you with a picture of Igby, which should be enough to make anyone smile. I love this wiener dog!

IMG00397

5 Responses to “Sub-par post #10”

  1. Amber 11/11/2009 at 4:21 am #

    There is a lot of information in the training, but it’s really not bad. And, you get to take all of the info home with you in a binder! : )

  2. girlvaughn 11/11/2009 at 6:36 am #

    um. I kiss you for going to Law & Order… seriously. I think we were separated at birth… I happen to not know my mother and have siblings I’ve never met so maybe it’s possible?? huh huh can it be possible? Were either of your parents named Sharon or Neil? Can you pretend?

    ANYWAY.

    I was a kid in that system. I was lucky enough to have my friends’ parents agree to foster me but I still had to deal with court dates and social workers. Social workers who changed every 3 months and who seemed to never care. Those kids need you. This is not a sub-par post. It’s awesome and inspiring. Those kids will be very lucky.

    • lswan 11/13/2009 at 6:09 pm #

      DUDE. My parents always said I was adopted, you might be one to something. Let’s pretend, I always thought it would be awesome to have a “I found a sister I never knew I had” story.

      Re: CASA stuff. Thank you for saying that, and I am sorry that you had to deal with it at all. I will totes work as hard as I can to make the kids I work with have a better experience.

      🙂

  3. Denise 11/13/2009 at 5:53 pm #

    My first experience at Trader Joe’s happened about two months ago (which really is TJ’s fault for not having that whole foods hippie store in southern Oregon) and it was AWESOME. we were looking at the bagged nuts and my husband says, “I wonder what these taste like,” and all of the sudden we’re all eating chili lime cashews.

    I should have made that comment near the wine.

    • lswan 11/13/2009 at 6:10 pm #

      Denise, it is SCANDALOUS that there is no TJ’s in Southern Oregon, it’s like the capital of whole food goodness.

Leave a Reply

