Reading

14 Nov

I go through phases in reading. I always have two books going, but sometimes it will take me a month to read them, which is a long time for me. Right now I’ve got a gym book and a bath book. The gym book is The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson and the bath book is I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb. I have read the Wally Lamb book before, I just recently decided to read all three of his books again.

I was an English major so I had to spend many years fighting the urge to be uppity and pretentious about what I was reading and relearn to really enjoy it. So lately I’ve been branching out, and I am loving series books. I am on the third Harry Potter book, but kind of stalled on it. When going through the huge storage area of my moms we came across the Interview With the Vampire series, so I may try those. I don’t mind campy, it just has to be smart too. I haven’t completely abandoned my formal education, I’m just not a douche about it anymore.

I don’t know what my deal is, I guess it’s the whole escapism thing. I just don’t want to work for it right now. I want it served up and delicious.

One of my goals every year is to keep a book journal, and I seem to falter at this after a few months. So this year I am going to keep track here, starting now, of what I am reading. Book recommendations are my favorite, so send anything good you read or hear about my way. Next up the new Lorrie Moore book, I think. You know, mixed in with the vampires.

5 Responses to “Reading”

  1. girlvaughn 11/14/2009 at 11:36 pm #

    I really enjoyed “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”…so much that I immediately read the second one and liked it even better. It took me a few chapters to really get into it but by the end I was totally sucked in. My friend Chris was so into them he ordered the 3rd from Amazon UK.

    Because I get a hand cramp if I try to *write* more than 10 words I just use Goodreads.com for keeping track of books. And you know, if you’re on their too we can be friends in yet another social media forum!! (I’m also on Shelfari because I was having commitment issues – but like Goodreads better.)

    (also, of course, loved “This Much is True”, but that’s like a given.)

    • lswan 11/17/2009 at 6:35 am #

      I totes have a Goodreads account that I never use. Firing it up tonight.

      I didn’t know there was more from Larsson, I will have to get moving on that.

  2. papa 11/15/2009 at 1:41 am #

    Sorry to hear you have abandon your formal education. It truly was a remarkable (and lengthy) journey. I cannot remember you ever being without a book. The book journal thing will be good. Mine goes back to 2005. I started a book about the history of WW1. Same for 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and looks to be 2010. I am about 1/4 of the way through it. Blazing speed by almost anybodies standard. Especially if you count all the third world countries.

    I think at some point you will return to your formal education. If not, then maybe you could write a book about abondoning your formal education for series of books eh.

    • lswan 11/17/2009 at 6:36 am #

      This made me laugh. Isn’t that the book you started in Nam? When mom learned her whole “breathing through the reed” trick?

  3. dashleysteele 11/21/2009 at 3:54 am #

    Favorite author: Haven Kimmel. Her book “A Girl Named Zippy” is my favorite book ever, right behind (coincidentally) “She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb.

    I read “The Hour I First Believed” on my honeymoon. Wife of the year.

    Try also:
    “A Girl’s Guide To Hunting and Fishing” by Melissa Bank. I have read this about a zillion times and have yet to tire of it. “Water For Elephants” is also fantastic.

Leave a Reply

