It’s right off of Strep Street, on the corner of Shingle.

7 Apr

I had such good intentions today of telling you all about the ultrasound and finding out that it was a girl, about how I instantly and without any warning went into the ugly cry, and how I stare at the pictures of her to the point of distraction. (Seriously, I want to punch myself in the face.)

However none of that is going to happen. I am on day three of being home-bound with shingles and strep. It sounds like something you order: shingles with a side of strep, please! Or even directions: it’s on the corner of Shingle and Strep!

The thing about it is, I am on an Anna Nicole Smith regimen. For real I asked my doctor if I was going to “Anna Nicole Smith-it” and she just sighed and said “No, Lindsey”. We’ve been together for awhile, is what I am saying. Seriously, the amount of pills it takes to fight these two infections plus kill the pain is enough to stop anyone’s colon from moving.

I thought it would be all fun and games. Forced bed rest? I got a ton of movies, some juice, some tea, settled in . . . and then was hit with the white hot pain that is shingles. It is no joke, people.

What B does think is a joke is that my shingles pills are the same pills you take for herpes. It even says on the directions in all caps: TAKE FOR HERPES. So he keeps asking me how my herps feel or telling me to make sure not to get any herps on his pillow. Now he just plain calls me Herp. (Which is really going to kill the progress he has made in the “herb vs. Herb” department because we were JUST getting to point of not ordering Herb crusted chicken.)

Tomorrow I am back to work, after three days in la-la land. Somehow I have to pull together a dinner for Saturday night, when B’s family is coming over to help paint the room and set up the crib they are going to buy for us. Matilda will be there, of course. I was slightly disappointed that I wasn’t able to sneak her in to any ultrasound pictures. I just couldn’t think of a way to explain Matilda to our babymama without sounding batshit crazy.

Pictures to come. I leave with you this:

Oh, they all look the same. Until they don’t.

2 Responses to “It’s right off of Strep Street, on the corner of Shingle.”

  1. Liz 04/08/2010 at 7:52 am #

    She is gorgeous. And smart. And has an amazing sense of humor. I’m pretty sure she can already read.

  2. lswan 04/12/2010 at 2:20 pm #

    OMG, thank you for noticing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

