Life is hard. Write that down.

10 Nov

Right now as I type this my sister and her husband are deciding the future of their marriage. Another friend just found out that her husband has been cheating on her. Another friend lost her job. Another friend can’t get pregnant. Another friend hasn’t found the right child to adopt yet. Another friend lost a dear aunt to cancer.

I could go on, but you get the point. While it seems like a particular shit storm has hit over here, it’s just life, when you think about it. This is what happens in life, beautiful babies are born and hearts are broken, all in the same day. Your joy doesn’t cancel sorrow and your sorrow doesn’t stop joy. I know this may seem like basic math to many of you, but for me it has been a long road of realization: Life is hard. Sure, no one said it would be easy. But no one said it would be this hard sometimes either.

My sister and I were sheltered from bad things, and we moved every six months to a year so we lived in a little bubble of family and didn’t experience a lot of loss. I feel lucky to have had that, but sometimes I also feel like it made me unprepared for life to be hard.

This will part of my words of wisdom to Fiona. I will tell her, straight up: Life is hard. Write that down.

4 Responses to “Life is hard. Write that down.”

  1. Manda 11/10/2010 at 9:37 pm #

    So true. If someone would have told me that life was actually and truely this hard I would have said no thank you!! Lol. No, seriously though. I wanted to be older so bad when I was a kid. Then I realized hitting my 20’s that life is hard. Not only is life hard but I think our thirties is the magic number for heartbreak, loss, self discovery and growth. It’s just too bad that most growth and discovery sometimes has to come from such adversity. I feel your frustration, almost word for word.

    • lswan 11/12/2010 at 8:00 am #

      Well the good news is that it only gets better, or so the rumor says. I know you too have been through some major shit, I like to believe it just makes us more awesome. And I do think you are pretty awesome. 🙂

      • Manda 11/21/2010 at 3:14 pm #

        It does make us more awesome, cheers to that! And, I have to say Ms. Swan, your blog is like crack. Every few days I come back to see what you have to say…It is hilarious and addicting some days and emotional and deep others. I have enjoyed your words of wisdom tremendously! Just sayin… 🙂

  2. Desiraie 11/20/2010 at 12:44 am #

    I’ve had a pretty tremendous amount of loss in my life and it has certainly made me a stronger person, although I’m not sure any amount of pre-warning about how hard life could ever truly prepare you for it.

Leave a Reply

