NaBloPoMo is kicking my ass

14 Nov

It’s not even Thanksgiving time and NaBloPoMo is kicking my ass. OR, more accurately, having a newborn is kicking my ass and therefore blogging every day is taxing my poor little brain.

Fiona woke up at 4:00 this morning ready to par-tay. Kicking and talking and all hey-ay, ho-oh . . . let’s read books! By 4:30 everyone was up, dogs included, and we had moved downstairs. By 5:00 Fiona, B and the dogs were all passed out, and I was wide awake cursing them all.

I knew I would pay for it later, but I decided not to fight it and just stay up. It is actually a really fun time, if you don’t have to go anywhere the next day. It is quiet, and kind of scandalous because other people aren’t up yet. I watched a creepy Japanese horror movie, made some serious progress on the hat I am knitting and ate two of the best cookies I’ve ever had that the best friend made for girls night.

Anyway, that was lovely but damn, Gina, I am tired now.

Other things I’m thinking about:

1. Does Giselle hate Tom Brady’s hair as much as I do?

2. I asked my sister-in-law if she had any gum tonight and she said that I could have the whole pack because her boyfriend said it tasted like condoms. I was like, uh, nevermind. Later on the way home:

B: Did I hear that right?
Me: Yes, I think you did.
B: How would he know?
Me: I can’t imagine.
B: Do you think there is a way to erase it from my mind?
Me: Let me know if you find it.

3. My entire family uses the phrase “back in Nam” to indicate that something happened a long time ago, or has been happening for a long time. It’s really probably not cool, or nice to people who really were in Nam. But it’s so effective. For example, regarding the condom gum:

Me: I mean, I haven’t tasted a condom in a long time, but it does not taste like this gum.
B: I hope you have never tasted a condom.
Me: It was back in Nam.

Later:

Me: I really have never tasted a condom. Why would you? I don’t understand.
B: To prevent getting diseases.
Me: There was a lot of that back in Nam.
B: I’ll bet.

4. If there was a zombie apocalypse and you had a couple of hours to raid a superstore, what would you grab first? My answers were: black tarps for the windows, water, baby formula, books, and as many prescriptions as possible. You never know when you are going to need a good antibiotic. Or pain pill. Or, for that matter, if zombies are trying to eat your brains, a Prozac. B’s answer: Ammunition and canned goods.

What I am trying to say is, if we are invaded by zombies, you should totally come to our house.

3 Responses to “NaBloPoMo is kicking my ass”

  1. MeAndBaby 11/15/2010 at 7:43 am #

    Tearing from laughing so hard. Literally laughing out loud! And thanks for the comment. You know I am a total jealous whore when it comes to you. 😉

  2. lswan 11/15/2010 at 8:06 am #

    Dude, I love jealous whores! Totally my kind of people. 🙂 You can be jealous of one baby, I will be jealous of two babies . . . it’s a party!

  3. Cathy 11/16/2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Sorry NaBloPoMo is kicking your ass. I’m loving it….. but I am selfish that way. xox

Leave a Reply

