Seven Things

17 Nov

1. We got Fiona’s official adoption certificate in the mail last week. I released a breath I didn’t realize I was still holding. It was lovely to see and hold the physical proof that she is legally mine. The clerk at our law firm wrote a note with it that said it looked good to him and to let him know if there were any errors. I started reading it over and it said, Mrs. Swan and Mr. Swan, hisband and wife. Sigh.

2. Did I tell you all that Igby isn’t paralyzed anymore? I know, right? The vet had told us there was nothing else they could do and we were having him outfitted with a wheelchair, and BAM! walking like it’s no big thang. Jumping, even! They said it could happen again any time, so we are just savoring this little miracle and being happy that we don’t have to take him to the bathroom anymore. I love that dog with fierce love, but that sucked.

3. One of my posts is being featured over at Story Bleed tomorrow, and I’m feeling pretty badass about it.

4. Fiona has started laughing. I am telling you, there is nothing I wouldn’t do to hear that sound again. I made funny faces for about two hours yesterday for a one second laugh, and it was worth all the facial pain I suffered later.

5. I am shocked that next week is Thanksgiving! I haven’t even started looking for Bird’s Custard yet! This could be a disaster.

6. For anyone else who watches Dexter, is Lumen trouble or WHAT? This is going to end badly.

7. I am knitting hats for some people for Christmas and I may have taken on too much. A girl can only knit so many hours in a day, you know? I will post pictures as I crank them out, some of them are darling, and I love doing custom orders because I love to see what color combos other people put together.

14 Responses to “Seven Things”

  1. girlvaughn 11/17/2010 at 8:49 pm #

    so much good news!

    yay.

    (heh. hisband)

    • lswan 11/18/2010 at 5:46 pm #

      I’ve always wanted a hisband.

  2. Elaine 11/18/2010 at 3:46 am #

    Yay on the story! And yes, I’m a bit surprised Dexter is giving up so much of his control. And when’s the last time Harry showed up to forewarn danger in letting someone else help? It’s not the code!!

    • lswan 11/18/2010 at 5:45 pm #

      You are my kind of people, Elaine.

  3. Elaine 11/18/2010 at 7:19 am #

    Re the Bird’s custard issue, your dedication to the product moves me. I’ll send you some sachets from over here – my gift. Powder or ready-made?

    • lswan 11/18/2010 at 5:42 pm #

      You are just swimming in all different forms of Bird’s Custard??? I am beyond jealous! I use powder for the bars. I love that you call them sachets, too. So cute!

      • Elaine 11/19/2010 at 11:54 am #

        Yes, we’re raised on Bird’s custard here.
        E-mail me your address and I’ll have some winging its way over to you tomorrow. I mean it!! Should be in time for Thanksgiving, right? I have no idea when that actually is. PS – what would you be calling “sachets” then?

    • lswan 11/21/2010 at 8:54 am #

      Hey Elaine, I emailed you and bounced back to me. Shoot me an email at lindseyswan@gmail.com. 🙂

      • Elaine 11/25/2010 at 12:03 pm #

        Aaargh! Our emails don’t want to talk to each other. My message wouldn’t send to you – I have never had that problem before. Will try to send it from my work computer tomorrow to see if I have any better luck!

  4. LeAnn 11/18/2010 at 9:31 am #

    Just found you through Story Bleed Magazine and love what I’ve read so far. Looking forward to reading more!

    • lswan 11/18/2010 at 5:42 pm #

      Thank you so much, I love it when people take time to comment!

  5. planetnomad 11/18/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Also over from Story Bleed and dang, girl, the LAST thing I need is more clutter in my feedreader but I’ve just spent the last half hour reading your back stuff. Your daughter is adorable and congrats! And I have a large container of Bird’s, about 3/4 full, that I bought last time we were in the UK. But even though I grew up in Canada, I do not like Nanaimo bars. I like my custard with bananas. Or on apple pie or Christmas pudding.

    • lswan 11/18/2010 at 5:45 pm #

      You don’t like Naniamo bars? Blasphemy! I too have a cluttered reader, but I had to add you right away as you are 1. a fellow Oregonian, 2. a Canadian and 3. an awesome world traveler. I love the internet!

  6. Jim Rowley 01/17/2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Hi

Leave a Reply

