Jumping In

25 May

When I called my best friend today and told her I was in the rhombus of doom, I couldn’t really explain why.  I still can’t, but I know this much: if I don’t write, I’ll just wither up.  So I will try to silence the voices in my head that I hear every time I open WordPress, wondering if I should start a new blog, talk about where I’ve been, where I’m going, or what I had for lunch.  I have opened WordPress, I have selected the option to add a new post, and I am typing.

I’m on a super long weekend.  I left the daycare Tuesday before the last mom was out of the driveway, and I don’t go back until next Tuesday.  When I left my mom said, “I hope we heal before we see each other again!” and man, I hope we do.  Monday and Tuesday were BRUTAL.  It was pouring, the kids were vile, manipulative creatures and I was tired.  (I know, right? You wonder, do we have openings? I’ve always wanted a daycare provider that calls my child a vile, manipulative creature! To which I say, if you don’t agree with me, you haven’t spent two rainy days with nine children.) (And no, we don’t have any openings!) Anyway, it sucked the life out of me, and I am just now looking around my own house and noticing that it in total disarray and taking taking stock of the things we need at the store.

Back to the long weekend! So I scored this play structure for FREE:

It’s so big.  B is spending the day today taking apart and then this weekend we will try to find some poor sucka to help us reassemble.   Some rich dude wants to put in a basketball court and doesn’t want to spend the time taking this down, so he was offering it for free if someone would do it for him.  I’ve been looking for one, and even used this would be about $800.  OK, rich dude, I’ll do the dirty work! Or B will, whichever.  I’m really excited.

Oh, and since I’m all freeballing it with no thematic structure at all, let me switch right over to infertility.  We were trying again with the same surrogate but now we aren’t.  How is that for news?  It’s kind of a long story, but the bottom line is that it just wasn’t right this time, and we were all okay with that.  I want another baby, I want Fiona to have a sibling, I want, I want, I want.  If it isn’t meant to be and if the worst thing about Fiona’s life is that she is an only child I will feel like I did a pretty awesome job.  More on that later, try not to pee your pants.

Let’s see . . . what else? We are going to Cody, Wyoming for a family reunion in July.  We are DRIVING.  Two cars, five adults, two kids, one toddler.  Hold me.  We are taking two days to get there, visiting the upper part of Yellowstone on the way there and then staying for five days at a ranch house with twenty-three other people, and then taking two days to drive home, visiting the lower part of Yellowstone on the way back.  It is a huge undertaking.  Remember the days of just jumping in the car and going?  Yeah, me either.

So that’s what I have for now.  I’m not editing it, I’m just pushing the “Publish Immediately” button which gives me hives a bit but man, I’ve missed it here.

xoxo

3 Responses to “Jumping In”

  1. MeAndBaby 05/30/2012 at 5:02 am #

    And we’ve missed you! FB posts are good but blog posts from you are better. 🙂 Thanks for the update. Looking forward to reading more!

  2. carrie 06/07/2012 at 11:01 am #

    Sister I am so glad you posted. I am sorry my kid is one of the vile manipulative creatures. But he is really cute and we all like you ALOT.

  3. F@live.com 10/18/2012 at 10:48 pm #

    I like turtles.

Leave a comment